Tutt takes Coach of the Year, Charleston earns top player honors

It is hard to argue with results and when those results are a state championship, they typically seem to speak for themselves. Webb Tutt entered 2016 with a team many figured would be a strong competitor in AISA Class A, but the roster lacked the household, ballyhooed names of its Longhorn forerunners.

But the 2016 Longhorn football team did what it needed to do. It listened to its coach and went to work. It went to work every day, week in and week out. When the the final horn sounded in Troy, Marengo Academy stood at 11-1 with its second Class A state title in four seasons. During that campaign, the Longhorns outscored their opponents 486-129 and saw their only setback come at the hands of Class AAA runner-up Marengo Academy.

The effort was more than enough for the Longhorns to help their head man earn West Alabama Watchman Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season.

The WAW Player of the Year nod goes to Linden senior Dequan Charleston. A Division I talent and probably the most dynamic player in the county, Charleston ignited in every conceivable way during the 2016 season. In 13 games he caught 31 passes for 553 yards and 11 touchdowns, turning in county highs in all three categories. He also rushed 31 times for 456 yards and seven touchdowns in addition to returning 12 punts for 400 yards and six touchdowns. Yet, as dynamic as Charleston was with the ball in his hands, he made his name throughout his varsity career as a defensive back. A shutdown corner, Charleston intercepted nine passes as a senior and returned one of those for a touchdown.

The West Alabama Watchman All-County Football Team appears below in its entirety.


QB – C.J. Robinson, Linden

RB – Weldon Aydelott, Marengo Academy

RB – Charles Blackmon, Linden

RB – Shamar Lewis, Sweet Water

WR – Gavin Tate, Marengo Academy

WR – Isaiah Scott, Linden

WR – Will Huckabee, Sweet Water

TE – De’Angelos Crispin, Marengo

TE – Tyler Jones, Demopolis

OL – D.J. Nettles, Marengo Academy

OL – Brandon Bates, Linden

OL – Taylor Sanders, Demopolis

OL – Bryce Chaney, Linden

OL – Flynn Mabowitz, Sweet Water

K – Clay McVay, Demopolis


DL – Landon Houlditch, Marengo Academy

DL – Jah’Darius McIntosh, Sweet Water

DL – Khyrim Bryant, Demopolis

DL – Ronald Bouler, Marengo

LB – Robert Tutt, Marengo Academy

LB – R.J. Cox, Demopolis

LB – Bruce McIntosh, Linden

LB – DeVonta Poole, Linden

DB – Dequan Charleston, Linden

DB – Logan McVay, Demopolis

DB – Cordarius Pritchett, Marengo

DB – Trent Sams, Sweet Water

P – Johnny Robertson, A.J. Johnson

ATH – Jacob Beck, Marengo Academy

ATH – R.J. Rodgers, Sweet Water