UWA softball signs 5

LIVINGSTON — West Alabama head softball coach Will Atkinson has announced the signing of five new Tigers. The new group includes two junior college transfers and three freshmen.

Treasure Rodriguez, a catcher from Sunnyvale, Calif., and Giana Cavallaro, a right-handed pitcher and outfielder from San Jose, Calif., led San Jose City Community College to the school’s record breaking 29-14 season as well as Sweet 16 Regional Champions last season.

Rodriguez led the Jaguars last season with 15 home runs, 61 RBI’s, 118 total bases, .881 slugging percentage and 59 runs. She finished second on the team with a .455 batting average, 61 hits and a .507 on-base percentage.

She earned California Community College Athletic Association 2013 All-State honors and was named to the first team All-Coast South Conference team.

Cavallaro recorded a 19-9 record for the Jags, posting two saves and three shutouts through 16 complete games and 30 starts. At the plate, she tallied a .345 batting average, eight doubles, a triple and two home runs.

Libby Davis and Audrey Diekmann both join the Tiger ranks by way of Niceville High School, where they helped the Eagles to the 2013 District Championship.

Davis, an outfielder, earned honors both on the field and off, being named first team All-Area as a junior and receiving the Annie T. Mitchell Honor Award for academics.

Diekmann, and outfielder and first baseman, was named to the 6A All-Florida High School first team, All-District first team and Okaloosa County Hitter of the Year by Northwest Florida Daily News after recording a .500 batting average for the 2013 season.

Second baseman Kristen Bittle joins UWA after aiding Hewitt-Trussville High School to five Area Championships. An All-Metro honoree in 2010, Bittle was named HTHS’s Defensive player and All-North/East Team by the Birmingham News last season.

The Tigers will take to the diamond for the first time in the 2014 season on Feb. 1, in the Georgia College Invitational. UWA will face the Bobcats in a double header beginning at 10 a.m. (C.S.T.).