UWA named StormReady University by National Weather Service

The University of West Alabama has just been named by the National Weather Service a StormReady® University. The recognition comes as a result of the University’s efforts in emergency preparedness, making UWA only the seventh college in Alabama to bear the classification.

According to University President Ken Tucker, the designation reflects the UWA unwavering commitment to protecting students, faculty, and staff, and guests on campus.

“We pride ourselves on the detailed attention we devote to the safety and protection of the people who choose to visit, work, or pursue their education at UWA,” Tucker said. “To that end, we are exceedingly appreciative of the StormReady designation and the recognition of the efforts of our experts on campus who work diligently to ensure that we are as prepared as we can be to protect all those we serve.”

The effort was led by the University’s Department of Emergency Preparedness, whom the President commended for their work with several other departments to plan, implement, and communicate crisis plans.

“We can’t prevent a crisis from happening, but we can prepare for it,” Tucker said.
Jim Stefkovich, meteorologist in charge for the NWS of Birmingham, explained that the designation is a reflection of excellence in several areas of emergency preparedness.

“Earning StormReady recognition status indicates that the University has done everything possible to improve emergency first responder and citizen preparedness in the event of a natural disaster,” Stefkovich said. “The University’s communications infrastructure and increased level of severe weather awareness will no doubt minimize the loss of life and/or property in the future.”

UWA’s StormReady designation is valid for three years, and at the end of that period the University can reapply for the certification, having met the requirements at the time of renewal.

Alabama ranks sixth in the nation for the number of StormReady designations within the state, with 52 designations, including 40 counties, and two commercial sites and four military sites.