Sweet Water’s Huckabee make South all-star squad

(Photo by Johnny Autery) Will Huckabee secure sa ball in right field.

(Photo by Johnny Autery)
Will Huckabee secure sa ball in right field.

Sweet Water outfield standout Will Huckabee is headed to the North-South All-Star Game this summer after being named to the South squad.

Huckabee is one of 36 players to be named to the game and the third Marengo County athlete to be selected for participation in the all-star festivities. He joins Demopolis’s Abbey Latham (softball) and Linden’s Imiya Agee (basketball).

Huckabee hit .363 during his junior season with 13 doubles, four triples, 22 RBIs, 22 steals, 29 runs scored and an impressive nine runners thrown out from right field.

North all-stars

Manning Early, Gardendale (IF)

Cameron Furr, Hewitt-Trussville (P)

Will Battersby, Spain Park (P/OF)

Luke Murphy, Fayetteville (C)

Taylor Hayes, Piedmont (P/OF)

Nick Swisher, Moody (IF)

Nate Lloyd, Oxford (IF)

Koy Chapman, Gordo (IF)

Hunter Hill, Deshler (C)

Cody Greenhill, Russellville (P)

Grayson Wakefield, Decatur Heritage (P)

Carson Hall, Randolph (P)

Owen Lovell, Cullman (OF)

Tanner Burns, Decatur (P)

Drew Talley, Huntsville (P)

Jordan Anderson, James Clemens (OF)

Jared Howell, Sparkman (C)

Caden Lemons, Vestavia Hills (P)


Lee Hall, Randolph

Josh Fowler, Muscle Shoals

Shelton Stalls, Moody

Will Smith, Spain Park

South all-stars

Joseph Booker, Miller, T. R. (P)

Thomas Brittain, Miller, T. R. (C)

Chad Bryant, Thomasville (P)

Tanner Allen, UMS-Wright (P)

Sam Plash, UMS-Wright (1B)

Christian Waltman, Faith Academy (C)

Hayden Maxey, Davidson (SS)

Leslie Thompson, McGill-Toolen (OF)

Jacob Free, Brantley (P)

Grant Akridge, Elba (OF)

MacKenzie Hicks, Long, G. W. (IF)

Jack Knight, Rehobeth (P)

Santiago Garcia, Enterprise (C)

Will Huckabee, Sweet Water( OF)

Brady Greene, Saint James (P)

Rodricues Williams, Tallassee (P)

William Jordan, Auburn (SS)

Evan Baber, Central – Phenix City (SS)


Owen Davis, Daphne

Matt Ream, Rehobeth

Michael Dismukes, Holtville

Evan Braun, Beauregard

Ken Whittle, Trinity (Administrative)