Smith sworn in, recognized at inaugural ACCS Board meeting

Wednesday, May 27, was a historic day for workforce development in Alabama, as it marked the inaugural meeting of the Alabama Community College System (ACCS) Board of Trustees.

Governor Bentley presided over the meeting as president, and, as his first order of business swore in the recently Senate-confirmed board members, including Demopolis’ Chuck Smith.

Al Thompson, representing Congressional District 1, was elected vice-president, and Milton Davis, District 6, was elected pro tempore.

During the meeting, ACCS Chancellor Mark Heinrich recognized George Clark and Manufacture Alabama for their leadership in making the new board’s governance a reality. Three Manufacture Alabama members serve on the Board of Trustees: Ron Fantroy, District 2, Shaw Industries; Milton Davis, District 6, B.L. Harbert International; and Smith, District 7, C2S Associates, recently retired from RockTenn.

ACCS Board of Trustees also includes: Al Thompson, District 1, Thompson Properties; Susan Blythe Foy, District 3, Russell Medical Center; J. Frank Caldwell, District 4, Ridgewood Healthcare Center; Crystal Brown, District 5, Decatur-Morgan County Chamber of Commerce; Mary Scott Hunter will serve as ex-officio from the State Board of Education; and Blake McAnally will serve at-large.

The ACCS Board is set to meet June 10.