Open for 2013 Community Champion Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the America in Bloom John R. Holmes III Community Champion Award.
This honor is to recognize an individual who exemplifies community leadership through actions that reflect the mission of America in Bloom. The award recipient, who must be from a city that has participated or is currently participating in the program, will have demonstrated a vision and selfless commitment to moving the community forward.

To nominate someone, please complete the online form (including a 500-word maximum essay). Nominations will be accepted until July 31.

Criteria for Selection

The selection committee will use the following criteria to evaluate each nominee:

·Community leadership


·Achievement/Impact of actions

·Ability to rally citizen volunteers

·Ability to engage business/garner sponsorships

·Ability to engage city government

·Champion for AIB – in community and beyond

America in Bloom created the award in 2009 in memory of John R. Holmes III, the late CEO of OFA – The Association of Horticulture Professionals, who died unexpectedly four years ago. An AIB board member and officer since AIB’s inception, John was a tremendous advocate for city beautification and a true believer in the power of flowers and plants to change lives.

Last year’s winner was Marilyn Heifner of Fayetteville, Ark. To see previous Community Champion Award winners, visit

This year’s award will be presented during the 2013 America in Bloom Symposium & Awards Program, September 19-21 in Orlando, Florida. The symposium is open to all who may have an interest in AIB activities.

To learn more about the award and other AIB activities, visit