DMS broadcast class wins statewide contest

img_6172The Demopolis Middle School received first place honors in a statewide video contest, beating several high school programs in the process. The DMS broadcast class produced a video in April 2016 and submitted it to the Alabama School Board Association Video Contest. The contest focused on “what makes your school excellent.”

Students worked on the project beginning in January. Although this is a team competition, there is a lead group that makes sure the video is just right. The DMS leaders for this project, were Owen Pruett, Graham Parker and Joseph Barnes, while Abbie Hathcock, Will Cork and TJ Upchurch were understudies. This project is a good way for the eighth grade team members to mentor the seventh grade members before they move on to the high school, passing the torch for next year.

“We also pull students from all grades and other classes to participate in the video,” DMS broadcasting teacher Meggin Mayben said.

December 10, students from the current 2016-17 Broadcasting team, Avery Schumacher, Mary Creigh Smith, Buckley Nettles, Abbie Hathcock, Sara Jordan, Mayben, Principal Blaine Hathcock, Superintendent Kyle Kallhoff and board members Carolyn Moore and Floy Mayberry were on hand to accept the first place award of $1,500. Demopolis City Schools is proud of this team and all it has accomplished.

“My students are amazing. I give them a job to do and they get it done,” Mayben said. “They have all accomplished so much and I am so blessed to be the one who gets to guide them in this class.”