2013 Miss Christmas on the River is Mary Frances Webb


Mary Frances Webb reacts to being named Miss Christmas on the River for 2013.

Tonight was a night filled with beauty, grace, sparkle and lights as the new Miss Christmas on the River was crowned. Twenty-six young ladies competed for the title by showing who they really were in an interview earlier in the day. They then showcased their beauty, grace and poise across the stage at the Demopolis Civic Center. The real test to tonight’s beauties was when the usual conversation on stage with the Master of Ceremonies was changed to a question on stage. The high school students were all asked “If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go and why?” After answering the question and giving the judges one final look at the top five, the judges made their decision for this year’s Miss COTR and her court.

Mayor Mike Grayson of Demopolis and Master of Ceremonies for the night first called out Miss Congeniality, Sydney Lane Standridge form Southern Academy. Then Grayson named the final winners.

Miss COTR 2013 court_5621

(L-R) Camilla Tutt, Mary Howerton, Mary Frances Webb, Ann Devon Taylor, Katelyn Elizabeth Beshears and Sydney Lane Standridge.

Fourth Alternate, wearing a golden crystal embellished gown, was freshman Camilla Tutt from Marengo Academy. A junior at Demopolis High, Katelyn Elizabeth Beshears was awarded third alternate wearing a sparkling silver mermaid gown. Also a junior at Demopolis was second alternate, Mary Howerton in a platinum corseted gown. In a white chiffon layered gown was  first alternate, Anna Devon Taylor a senior at Southern Academy. Finally wearing a vintage John Benet white flowing chiffon gown was Demopolis High senior, Mary Frances Webb who was crowned Miss Christmas on the River 2013.


Anna Stuart Cramer, 2012’s Miss Christmas on the River, crowned Mary Frances Webb as 2013’s Miss Christmas on the River.

Mary Frances Webb is the daughter of Greg and Frances Webb. She is the co-captain on the DHS cheer leading squad, a member of  the key club, anchor club secretary, a member of YOUth lead, a member of the science national honer society, beta club and student council senior representative. Mary Frances was excited and surprised to be called out as this year’s queen. Mary Frances stated “I just couldn’t believe I had won.” She has not been in a pageant since she’s been in high school and decided to compete in Miss COTR after being encouraged by her friends and mother, since it was her last year to be able to compete. Webb is very excited to serve as Miss COTR this year and ride in the parade since her grandfather and World War II veteran, Arthur Lee Hitt, will be leading the parade as one of the Grand Marshalls.

Top 15 contestants not listed above were Reid-Claire Stein, Caroline Colby Overmyer, Sydney Maria Pettis, Anna Caroline Logan, Addison Leigh Lambert, Caroline Leigh-Ann Gibbs, Sydney Lane Standridge, Hunter Hewitt, Ammie Rebekah Etheridge and Anne Burtram Harrison.